House Structure Overview


The House system is very much at the heart of school life, bringing together a Housemaster and a team of tutors to focus on the academic progress and Pastoral care of pupils. Participation in activities and team sports in House competitions aids holistic development.


Pupils in our First and Second Forms (Years 7 & 8) are in The Close, which is the junior section of the School. A Housemaster is responsible for The Close supported by Heads of Year and a team of tutors. Within The Close, boys join one of four tutor-group based Houses: Clapton, Reedhams, Royal Wanstead or Royal Putney (named after other Andrew Reed institutions).

In the Middle School (Years 9 to 11) pupils join one of the four main Houses: Blathwayt, Bristowe, Capel or Mullens (all named after some of the early benefactors of the Reed's Foundation). The Housemaster and team of tutors are responsible for encouraging and nurturing the academic, social, recreational and pastoral development of all pupils within their house. Boarders will join School House but also be affiliated to one of the main houses for House competitions.

In the Sixth Form, pupils remain within their houses for competitions, but their academic and pastoral progress will be monitored and encouraged by the Head of Sixth Form and the Sixth Form management team.